The Role and Influence of Mothers

A Woman’s Point of View on Mothers
By Lilian Florian

Mothers are God’s chosen instruments to instruct us when we do not know, to correct us when we fail or do wrong, to encourage and comfort us when we are down, and to challenge us when we want to give up. Mothers have been entrusted with lives that need training and teaching in God’s ways. Mothers have the enormous responsibility but beautiful privilege of shaping the next generation in the right way and being an example of love and faith. They spend so much time with us children since we are conceived. God has given that time for mothers to show their children the Way to God and to abundant life: Jesus Christ.

Paul spoke to Timothy about the value of the legacy of his grandmother and mother: faith in God. “That precious memory triggers another: your honest faith—and what a rich faith it is, handed down from your grandmother Lois to your mother Eunice, and now to you!” (2 Tim. 1:5). Faith in God, that is complete trust, confidence, and reliance on God above all else, is mother’s most precious gift.

Personally, I have learned so much from what my mom has taught and shared with me through the years. She has planted these seeds of faith in God’s Word, and even now as an adult, I always go back to those truths. Five of the lessons I have learned from my mom are:

1. God’s mercies are new every day
“Because of theLord’s great love we are not consumed,   for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness” (Lam. 3:22-23). God is merciful and faithful to us each day regardless of the problems we had or the challenges we may face. We can have that trust in God because His mercies overflow each day; everything we need is in Him.

2. Be thankful for what God has given you and how He has taken care of you even in difficult times
Philippians 4:6 says: “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God”. We all have struggles, but as Christians, we have the assurance that we can draw near God and lay our needs before Him. However, I have often realised that my worries tend to blind my eyes from God’s goodness and love in my life and bring doubt into my heart. However, God wants us to approach Him, trusting that He is able to protect us from all harm and remembering all the great things He has done before.

My mom encouraged me to give thanks for there is always a reason to be grateful. Whether you were born with all your body members or without them, we can always give thanks. Even if we are sick, we can be thankful for the new day and the new things we can enjoy in that day. In all times, God is good.

3. God’s plans, ways, and dreams are the best
We just need to believe that, as Jeremiah 29:11 says, God’s ways and plans for us are the best. My mom has taught me to trust in this truth and I have seen it come true in my life many times. One example is that my parents taught me to pray for my husband since I was a child. As I prayed, I learned to submit that part of my life to God and to wait on God for His plans for my life. When I met my husband, I realized God’s faithfulness to our prayers even in the smallest detail in our wedding. It is easy to read this verse, but we must learn to believe it, to expect God’s goodness in our lives, and to persevere.

4. Life is a journey; each stop (situation) shows us more of God’s character and shapes us into His likeness
One day as I was talking with my mom about a problem I had, she comforted me by saying that life in this world is not easy. As sad and annoying these situations are, there is always something we can learn and a greater purpose beyond what we can see at that moment. Generally, we simply label these situations as dark seasons or valleys in our lives, hoping to forget about them. Yet, we often forget that it is in those times when we experience God’s faithfulness and company in a stronger way in our lives.

We cannot be healed if we are not sick; we cannot be strengthened if we are already strong. It is when we can see that life is more than those temporal problems but an enriching process that brings to completion God’s work in us that we can be truly thankful and find joy amid the trouble. “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen,since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal” (2 Cor. 4:18).

5. Amid the corruption of the world, only God can keep us safe and strong in faith for His glory
I have felt scared when seeing how the world is changed and how people are selling their values and beliefs for the vanities of the world like money, popularity, and people’s respect. It is sad to see how sin can grip us and lead us to dark and filthy roads. But praise be to God who has given us Christ, the way to life and freedom from sin, and His grace to stand strong until we finish the race. God is able to provide for us materially, but more than that, He is able to provide spiritually to teach us His ways, to shape us into His likeness, and to strengthen us by His grace as He strengthened Noah.

“To him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy—to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen” (Jude 1:24-25).

In the future, I hope to become a mother that passes on the gift of salvation in Christ and faith in God. I want to be an example of faith as Timothy’s mom was for him and sow God’s truths into my children’s hearts so they can also know God and find joy in Him. I pray God can fill you mothers with His unending love and wisdom to share God’s truths to your children and to guide them in His ways.

 

A Man’s Point of View on Mothers
By Ian Poh

I once argued with my mom. It was my bad to introduce her to social media, and ever since that time, she has been cyber-stalking me. “I need privacy, mom.  I am an adult now. Are you placing a 24/7 surveillance on me? Geez, you are worse than the CIA” I said .  Mom’s reply was: “No matter how old you are,  you will always be my little boy”.

Mothers are the very embodiment of self-sacrifice. Many things my mom does are not for herself but for her family, and most of the time, for her children. Take for instance Michelle Obama, the First Lady of the United States of America. She once released a statement that said she could only afford a day away from home in any week because she wanted to spend time with her children.  Now, not even Mr. President, her husband, can make her change her mind about that.

Mothers grow up in their families and fall in love with dads, and they have to forsake their maiden name. They serve their parents and siblings, their own new family, and their in-laws. They teach manners and many inner qualities to their children, who, other than bear some facial appearance reassembling them, have no other exterior proof to show that those children are their legacy. In general, their children will not even carry their family name. Yet, it is so easy for dads to say someone is their child because the child will carry their family name or even their first name also in some cases. For example, Mr. John can easily declare that John Jr. is his son during his graduation; but what about his mom? Where is her due recognition for the hours of her toiling, guidance, and hard work to turn little John into a fine lad?

Mother’s Day is so important. It means so much to moms when we children recognise our moms, confirming that their hard work and legacy. It may be a usual day to many, but to me, it is a reminder to not take my mom for granted; her legacy is built within me. My mom sacrificed so much for me to make me what I am today.  She even gave me the best gift, which is the knowledge of God, and she embedded it in heart. I remembered asking dad who I resemble to regarding my wits and occasional sarcasm. He said that I have to thank mom as she has given me most of her wisdom when I was conceived.  However, he ruined the moment by adding this final sentence: “That explains why she doesn’t make sense now as she gave it all to you”. From this talk, I concluded that I had inherited mom’s wisdom and dad’s sarcasm.

Happy Mother’s Day!

 

The Role and Influence of Mothers
By Pr Ay Nee Ng

Jokes about Mothers

Chris: “Why is a computer so smart?”
Mom: “It listens to its motherboard”. (Submitted by Christopher W., Gladwyne, Pa.)

Matthew: “What did the mother rope say to her child?”
Jim: “What?”
Matthew: “Don’t be knotty”. (Submitted by Matthew C., DeRidder, La.)

Pee Wee: “What did the digital clock say to its mother?”
Westy: “What?”
Pee Wee: “Look, Ma! No hands!”  (Submitted by Jairo S., Bakersfield, Calif.)

It’s been more than 100 years since Woodrow Wilson proclaimed Mother’s Day a national celebration. We also celebrate in Australia Mother’s Day all over the country. We celebrate our mother’s input in us; we owe our upbringing and life mostly to our mothers.

Famous Quotes on Mothers

All that I am or ever hope to be, I owe to my angel mother. ― Abraham Lincoln

I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me. They have clung to me all my life. ― Abraham Lincoln

My mother was the most beautiful woman I ever saw. All I am I owe to my mother. I attribute my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education I received from her. ― George Washington

A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts. ― Washington Irving

Spread love everywhere you go. Let no one ever come to you without leaving happier. ― Mother Teresa

Women and mothers, what do you think our role is? What does the Bible say about women? The title of Proverbs 31:10-31 is “The Wife of Noble Character”, “The Power of a Virtuous Woman” or “The Woman Who Fears the Lord”. How does a mother get her grown-up son to listen to her? As we read Proverbs 31, we will explore ancient questions about gender, power, submission, obedience, and sacrifice.

Proverbs 31:10-31

10 A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies.
11 Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value.
12 She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.
13 She selects wool and flax and works with eager hands.
14 She is like the merchant ships, bringing her food from afar.
15 She gets up while it is still night; she provides food for her family and portions for her female servants.
16 She considers a field and buys it; out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
17 She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.
18 She sees that her trading is profitable, and her lamp does not go out at night.
19 In her hand she holds the distaff and grasps the spindle with her fingers.
20 She opens her arms to the poor and extends her hands to the needy.
21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household; for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
22 She makes coverings for her bed; she is clothed in fine linen and purple.
23 Her husband is respected at the city gate, where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.
24 She makes linen garments and sells them, and supplies the merchants with sashes.
25 She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.
26 She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
27 She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.
28 Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her:
29 “Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.
30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
31 Honor her for all that her hands have done, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

Women who succeed and have all the happiness and fulfilment in life are those women who fear the Lord. Have a blessed Mother’s Day and a blessed year of God’s goodness in your lives.

